The Glenview Hotel has been welcoming guests from afar for over one hundred years and celebrated its hundred-year anniversary almost ten years ago.
The hotel dates to 1914 when it originally opened as a cottage, hunting lodge, and guesthouse with five bedrooms, as part of the Powerscourt Estate. The house was purchased by The McCarthy family in 1919: they added bedrooms and a function room and continued to run the hotel for the next 60 years. The Patrick family acquired the hotel in 1978 and further developed the Hotel until the Stafford Investment Company purchased it in 1992. Since then, the Glenview has grown from a 42-bedroom hotel to 72 bedrooms, with an award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, extensive meeting, and events suites and a leisure club and stunning outdoor dining, and 30 acres of landscaped gardens and woodlands. The Hotel has been back in current Irish family ownership since 2006.
The hotel is now embarking on its next development stage. Having already started its redevelopment programme with investment in the grounds and outdoor areas and meeting and events rooms with some of the bedrooms currently part of this phase of enhancement.